CE for New York State RE Licensees

If you are a licensed real estate salesperson or broker in New York State, use the guide below to determine your continuing education requirements.

I. ==> If you have maintained continuous licensure since July 1, 1993:

  1. If the official date of the expiration of your license is June 30, 2021 or earlier, you will still be exempt from completing continuing education for this renewal. However, you will be required to complete continuing education for your next renewal.
  2. If the official date of the expiration of your license is July 1, 2021 or later, you are no longer exempt from continuing education. Go to II. b, below.

II. ==> If you obtained your license after July 1, 1993 or had any break in licensure after July 1, 1993:

a. If the official date of the expiration of your license is June 30, 2021 or earlier, you are required to complete the following continuing education before renewing your license, and to have done so in the two years preceding its expiration date:

You must complete:
22.5 hours of approved CE

…which must include BOTH of the following:
• At least 3 hours of instruction pertaining to fair housing and/or discrimination in the sale or rental of real property or an interest in real property;
• At least 1 hour of instruction pertaining to the law of agency (or 2 hours if you are a RE salesperson and this is your first license renewal).

b. If the official date of the expiration of your license is July 1, 2021 or later, you are required to complete the following continuing education before renewing your license, and to have done so in the two years preceding its expiration date:

You must complete:
22.5 hours of approved CE

…which must include ALL of the following:
• At least 3 hours of instruction pertaining to fair housing and/or discrimination in the sale or rental of real property or an interest in real property;
• At least 1 hour of instruction pertaining to the law of agency (or 2 hours if you are a RE salesperson and this is your first license renewal);
• At least 2.5 hours of instruction on the subject of ethical business practices;
• At least 1 hour of instruction on recent legal matters.